Nocturnal Thanksgiving Thoughts

It’s almost 4 a.m. and I cannot sleep. I don’t know why, but here I am reflecting on the goodness of the Lord. As I was laying in bed contemplating my wakefulness I heard the pitter-patter of raindrops outside. This made me happy because I love hearing the rain. It is very soothing. After going through a season of drought, and even though the drought has ended (I think) I am still very grateful for it. It is a reminder of the Lord’s blessings in this season of Thanksgiving.

This past Thanksgiving we did something new, and celebrated with friends. Usually we meet up with family, but this year we wanted to stay close to home. So we only went about ten minutes away, and with the way things came together, hosted a Thanksgiving meal at the home of very close friends who were not even home. This really makes me reflect upon the goodness of the Lord.

I suppose for some it’s not really a big deal, but for me it is a great blessing. We had a lot of fun on Thanksgiving sharing the day with brothers and sisters in Christ.  I also am grateful to the Lord for ensuring the turkey was tasty, and the rolls did not get too burnt. They were still edible!

I sometimes question whether we did the right thing, and if we were following the Lord when we moved down here. Then days like Thanksgiving 2008 occur. From this I can truly say we are right where the Lord has called us to be. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

