Unexpected Blessing in Disguise

The Lord has reminded me recently that answers to prayer can come in unexpected ways. As a first time mom I have prayed a lot about raising my son. When do I do this? How do I do that? And on and on and on and on.  The Lord is truly there for us, even in the small daily concerns.

One my prayers was about helping Ahren get over his pacifier addiction. Having just turned 2, Ahren thought the pacifier was a part of his daily life. For the most part he accepted that he was only allowed to have it for naps and bedtime, but every once in a while you would see him walking around with it blissfully in place. This all ended on Sunday, July 5th.

Ahren and I were on the patio enjoying the beautiful summer morning. I was sitting in one of the chairs reading while Ahren was playing all around the place. At one point I looked up and saw him on his tricycle with a pacifier in his mouth. I was thinking I did not remember him having it this morning, and I should take it away. Just then Ahren was climbing off the tricycle, lost his balance, the tricycle tipped and Ahren fell with his face flat on the patio.

Keeping out details mommy doesn’t want to relive, the pacifier had cut his top gums. Since the pacifier would make his gums start bleeding again I knew he shouldn’t have it. So the Holy Spirit resolve in mama was activated, and the pacifier supply went into the cupboard. Out of sight out of mind. It hasn’t always been the easy, but it hasn’t been bad. Ahren is recovering from his addiction very nicely.

This whole incident has been a reminder of God’s goodness. He cares about every detail of our lives. Nothing is too small for His notice. His timing is perfect as well. Just after the celebration of freedom for our country, our own personal lives are liberated from the things hold us captive. I took the opportunity the Lord presented, and have not given Ahren any of the pacifiers back. It makes me think: How many opportunities of freedom has the Lord given us yet we don’t recognize it as such?

Leave a Reply

