Book Review

100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs by Stephen Elkins

100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs by Stephen Elkins

Here is my review of 100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs by Stephen Elkins. I requested this book because I have a toddler who loves Bible stories and music. The illustrations are very appealing and colorful while the stories are simple and to the point. The animals are really cute and the cartoon people are drawn well without being scary like some kids books are. (I particularly like the dog running away when Samson is destroying the pillars, and the fish in the parting of the Red Sea. There are some things missing in adult bibles.) My son will page through it, looking at the illustrations even when I am not reading it to him. The accompanying music is certainly toddler friendly, but to be honest does not appeal to me. However, I do enjoy watching my little one “dance” to the music. Although my son is at the age where he does not fully comprehend the lesson behind the stories, it is still soaking into his little spirit. The stories, illustrations, and music together are helping to lay the foundation of his learning the Bible. The whole setup of this book makes it useful for family time as well as Sunday school lessons for preschoolers.  I highly recommend it anyone with a little one.

Leave a Reply

