Turning Points

One of the things that I really, really love about the Lord are the sudden turning points we encounter in our lives. The unexpected, but much needed bits a change in our lives.

Last night Ahren requested a bath, and was making it clear that his toddler brain was focused on water and toy boats. Being very tired, all evening I was focused on toddler bedtime so when he started talking about bath and boats I had a dilemma – bed or bath then bed? Thankfully, I made the right choice. Ahren had his bath…with no tears, screaming or disputing in anyway the normal bath routine as he had been doing for months.

I cannot say when he started disliking his baths. It was usually equal parts joy playing with his bath toys to loud anger and annoyance with the rest of the bath process. So last night, as my mind is amazed at this turn of events, I watch Ahren courageously suffer having his hair wet, shampooed and rinsed with no complaints. There is only toddler joy of splashing and toys.

All the while my mind is replaying over and over again – Really? A bath? Really? No tears? No screaming? Happiness? Really?

It’s a little thing. I recognize this. The Lord is helping me see a bigger picture though. How many things in my life have I accepted as this is how life is?

Before last night I came to expect Ahren’s reactions at bath time. I accepted it. I prepared myself for it. This was our routine. Nothing we tried to change the bath time experience helped so this is how life went. Then reactions change, and while I am pleased (very pleased) with this change, I still am pondering it.

I wonder if the Lord is helping me see the breakthrough in this small thing for a reason. Do I need to see the correlation here in preparation for the bigger BREAKTHOUGH that is coming? The BREAKTHOUGH that I have been waiting for, praying for, warring for. The BREAKTHOUGH that will come unexpectedly in the midst of my daily life, and mess up my thinking for a bit.

I am sure I will get over it though. 😉

“And then God answered: ‘Write this. Write what you see. Write it out in big block letters so that it can be read on the run. This vision-message is a witness pointing to what’s coming. It aches for the coming—it can hardly wait!
And it doesn’t lie. If it seems slow in coming, wait. It’s on its way. It will come right on time.’ ”
Habakkuk 2:2,3

Leave a Reply

