June 5th

When Jim and I moved South 5 years ago I  knew the Lord was all over it. What I didn’t expect was how much a simple date would come to mean to me.

On June 5th, 2005, we hugged my parents goodbye as they headed back to NY after helping us move. That was the last day I hugged my dad and received a hug from him on this earth. This same day was the start of meeting and getting to know new and beloved friends.

On June 5th of the following year we said, “Goodbye” when the Lord called one of those beloved friends home to Him.

Then on June 5th, 2007 our son was born. This past weekend we celebrated his 3rd birthday.

June 5th of every year is a time for Jim & I to give thanks to the Lord for all that he has done, for our son, and to remember His faithfulness. I remember my dad, and our last hug.

Today, as I was putting Ahren’s toys away, I noticed the markings on one of his new toy trucks that friends gave him for his birthday. It’s a monster truck with the Ford brand on it, and the phrase, “Built Ford Tough.” Ford was my dad’s preferred brand of truck. For Ahren to receive this for his birthday this year, I know the hand of the Lord was in it as an acknowledgment of the sacrifice we made 5 years ago to move to a place unknown for Him.

While we do not have the full knowledge of the Lord’s purpose for us here, what we do know grows a little deeper every year. This year brought a lot more confirmation.

For I know the thoughts and plans that I have for you, says the Lord, thoughts and plans for welfare and peace and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome. Jeremiah 29:11 AMP

Leave a Reply

